Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

CPR Announces Winners of 2020 Awards for Contributions to Academia and Diversity in ADR

St. Petersburg, FL—The International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR), a global non-profit organization that advances dispute prevention and resolution practices and solutions, announced the recipients of its 2020 Awards for contributions to academia and efforts to increase diversity in ADR. Winners will be recognized at a luncheon ceremony on Friday, February 28, 2020, at the Vinoy Renaissance in St. Petersburg, Florida, as part of CPR’s Annual Meeting.

The annual Academic Awards criteria focus on processes, techniques, systems, commitment and scholarship, which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes.

The Award for Outstanding Professional Article recognizes articles published by academics and other professionals that advance understanding in the field of ADR. This year, the award will be granted to:

  • Nadja Alexander, for “Ten Trends in International Mediation” (31 The Singapore Academy of Law Journal 405, (2019))

The Award for Outstanding Short Article will be granted to:

  • Amy J. Schmitz and Colin Rule, for “Online Dispute Resolution for Smart Contracts” (Journal of Dispute Resolution (Vol. 2019, No. 2))

“I am incredibly impressed by the quality and relevance of the submissions received in conjunctions with this academic awards program,” said Allen Waxman, CPR CEO & President. “We congratulate the winners and look forward to another inspiring and thought-provoking year of thought leadership from our awards participants, who exemplify the potential and purpose of ADR.”

James F. Henry Award – Beginning in 2002, outstanding achievement by individuals for distinguished, sustained contributions to the field of ADR. Candidates for the James F. Henry Award are evaluated for leadership, innovation and sustaining commitment to the field.

  • This year, Thomas J. Sabatino, Jr., Chairman of the CPR Institute Board of Directors, will be presenting the James F. Henry Award to Deborah Masucci. Throughout her decades-long career, Deborah has personified excellence in the field of ADR, sharing her passion, experience and insights on ADR with the community and well beyond.

CPR 2020 Outstanding Contribution to Diversity Award – In 2007, the National Task Force on Diversity in ADR created an Award for Outstanding Contribution to Diversity in ADR to recognize a person or organization who has contributed significantly to diversity in the alternative dispute resolution field. Submissions are reviewed by a panel consisting of past winners, along with CPR’s Co-Chairs of the National Task Force on Diversity and CPR’s President.

  • The recipient of last year’s Diversity Award, Timothy K. Lewis of Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP, will present this year’s award to Ambassador David Huebner. Also a Distinguished CPR and JAMS neutral, Huebner swiftly and materially enhanced the diversity of the board and executive committee of CIArb’s North America Branch and other organizations, in terms of women, younger attorneys, people of color and those who identify as LGBTQ, for whom he also serves as a mentor.

About CPR

Established in 1977, CPR is an independent nonprofit organization that helps prevent and resolve legal conflict more effectively and efficiently. 

The CPR Institute drives a global prevention and dispute resolution culture through the thought leadership of its diverse membership of top companies, law firms, academics, and leading mediators and arbitrators around the world.  The Institute convenes best practice and industry-oriented committees and hosts global and regional meetings to share practices and develop innovative tools and resources. The Institute trains on dispute prevention and resolution, publishes a monthly journal on related topics, and advocates for supporting and expanding the capacity for dispute prevention and resolution globally. 

CPR Dispute Resolution harnesses the thought leadership and output of the Institute to provide ADR services – mediation, arbitration, early neutral evaluation, dispute resolution boards and others – through innovative and practical rules and procedures and through CPR’s Panel of Distinguished Neutrals.