Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

CPR Names New Board Chair and Vice Chair

Fluor CEO, Carlos M. Hernandez, steps down as Chair; Former CPR Board Vice Chair, Thomas J. Sabatino, is elevated to Chair; General Motors General Counsel, Craig Glidden, becomes Vice Chair

NEW YORK – The International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR), a global non-profit organization that advances dispute prevention and resolution practices and provides high quality solutions, announced the election of new Board Chair, former General Counsel of Aetna Inc., Thomas J. Sabatino, and new Vice Chair, General Motors EVP & General Counsel, Craig Glidden. Carlos Hernandez, Fluor’s new CEO, stepped down as Board Chair in light of his new responsibilities but will remain on the CPR Board making him the first CEO of a public company to serve on CPR’s Board.

Thomas Sabatino, Jr. previously served as Executive Vice President and General Counsel of Aetna, Inc., as well as Senior Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer and General Counsel at The Hertz Corporation. He has also held leadership positions at Walgreen Co., United Airlines, Schering-Plough Corporation and Baxter International Inc. He served as CPR’s Board Vice Chair since 2017 and first joined the board in 2012.

Craig B. Glidden, a member of CPR’s Board since 2017, is Executive Vice President and General Counsel of General Motors Co. where he is responsible for corporate sustainability, in addition to his role leading GM Legal. Mr. Glidden was previously Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer for LyondellBasell and Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary of Chevron Phillips Chemical Co. Glidden and General Motors were the recipients of CPR’s Corporate Leadership Award in 2016. 

“It has been an honor and a pleasure to serve as CPR’s Board Chair for the past two years,” said Hernandez. “While I felt the demands of my new role, as CEO of a publicly-traded company, necessitated my stepping down as Chair, what I feel even more strongly is how my experience in thoughtful dispute prevention and resolution, honed and perfected during my time with CPR, has helped position me to steer Fluor confidently and strategically forward. I very much look forward to continuing as a CPR Board member, under Tom’s and Craig’s leadership.”

“Craig and I assume our respective new roles at a time of growth and renewal for CPR, with Noah Hanft soon departing as President & CEO after leading the organization so brilliantly for five years,” said Sabatino. “We thank him for his contribution and look forward to collaborating with incoming President & CEO Allen Waxman and the rest of CPR’s outstanding executive team as we continue to advance the organization's mission of providing thought leadership in conflict prevention and dispute resolution.”

“With gratitude to Carlos for his insightful and inspiring tenure as our Chair, it is with both optimism and excitement that we welcome our new Board leadership,” said Noah Hanft, outgoing CPR President & CEO. “With their impeccable in-house credentials, and an unwavering commitment to this organization and its mission, Tom and Craig will no doubt help guide CPR to even greater levels of innovation and excellence in preventing and addressing business conflicts.”

Joining Tom and Craig are a number of other legal and business leaders who play an integral role in guiding CPR’s mission, including George A. Bermann, Columbia Law School; Cornell Boggs III, BarkerGilmore; Loren H. Brown, DLA Piper;  Mary Beth Cantrell, Amgen Inc.; Taj Clayton, Winston & Strawn, LLP;  Peter Drucker, AkzoNobel N.V.; Gregory S. Gallopoulos, General Dynamics Corporation; Craig Glidden, General Motors Co.; Eric D. Green, Resolutions, LLC; Renato Grion, PinheiroNeto Advogados; Noah J. Hanft, CPR; Richard Hill, Shell International Limited; John Kiernan, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP;  Richard Krumholz, Norton Rose Fulbright; Jana Litsey, Huntington National Bank; Dale Matschullat, Newell Rubbermaid Inc.; Joseph E. Neuhaus, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP; Robert Particelli, Hewlett Packard Enterprise; Scott S. Partridge, Bayer US LLC; Layn Phillips, Phillips ADR; Carey S. Roberts, Assurant, Inc.; Laura Robertson, ConocoPhillips; Robert Ruyak, Ruyak Cherian LLP; Ank Santens, White & Case LLP; Fernando Eduardo Serec, TozziniFreire Advogados; Kelly Mahon Tullier, Visa Inc.; Jay Waks, American Kennel; Stephen Younger, Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP; and Richard Ziegler, Jenner & Block, LLP.

About CPR

Established in 1977, CPR is an independent nonprofit organization that helps prevent and resolve legal conflict effectively and efficiently.

  • CPR Dispute Resolution is an ADR provider offering quality, efficiency and integrity via innovative and practical arbitration rules, mediation and other dispute resolution services and procedures—as well as arbitrators, mediators and other neutrals, worldwide.
  • The CPR Institute, the world’s leading ADR think tank, positions CPR uniquely as a thought leader, driving a global prevention and dispute resolution culture and utilizing its powerful committee structure to develop cutting edge tools, training and resources. These efforts are powered by the collective innovation of CPR’s membership—comprising top corporations and law firms, academic and public institutions, and leading mediators and arbitrators around the world.